Posted in Useful Sites

Pay Sites: Yay or Nay?

This question was brought on by the fact that 750words.com is soon to become a pay site. Which means that people who used 750words because it was a free service will no longer be able to. Granted it will only cost $5 a month to use but ,for some people, that $5 could be better spent going towards something like food or bills.

I know that some people will be crying that $5 is not enough to make a difference. To those people, I would say that you are lucky that you don’t have to worry about money. Unfortunately, I am not one of those lucky people.

I grew up in a place where the majority of the population are on unemployment for about 8 months out of the year. I learned early on to budget for everything. I learned to count the cost of groceries before I go to the check out and that the cheap brands usually have the same quality as the name brands. In essence, I learned to live within my means and to save every penny that I earn.

Unfortunately, my life circumstances at the moment mean that I cannot afford to pay $5 a month to use 750words. Hopefully I will be able to afford that in the future or it will go back to a free site (which Buster has said is a possibility). Right now though, I will not be able to use the site.

I would still suggest the site to those who are interested in setting up a writing schedule but only if you have the money to spend.

 

P.S. In just 2 days 9 hours and 42 minutes, Camp NaNo is set to begin its April chapter. If you have a login for NaNo, then you can login to Camp NaNo. Rebels are encouraged to join up and Wrimos are welcomed with open arms. So if you have been putting off that novel, memoir, or any other writing goal, then April is your month.

Author:

The AP Roberts is an extremely rare creature and there is only one known AP Roberts in the world. Usually off in its own little world, the AP returns to reality when it gets lonely. This elusive creature is rather difficult to catch on film, however will pose for drawings. The AP, though wild by nature, can be tamed and makes a wonderful pet. It should also be known that while the AP gets along with most creatures it has an intense fear of insects and large canines. The AP lives on a diet of mainly vegetables and candy but is not known to refuse food that is made and offered through kindness. The drink of choice for the AP is tea though it is known to drink water and juice. There is still much to be learned of the AP however, most agree that the writings of the AP are truly something to behold. Hopefully, one day the AP will find a good Agent creature who will introduce the AP's writings to a good publisher creature and the world will be able to read the AP's works.

2 thoughts on “Pay Sites: Yay or Nay?

  1. I stop using sites when they become “pay to use.” There are way too many other similar sites out there that are free. It’s true that $5 per month isn’t a lot, but I’d rather spend my money on other things.

    Like

Review

