Posted in On Writing, Post a Day/Week

Plot Lines

I love plot lines. I even have a notebook where I collect my favourite plot lines. I only have 70 plot lines mapped out but I am always making more.

The funny thing is that I don’t always use the plot lines that I’ve collected. Occasionally I will use the more well-known fairy tale plot lines or I may do a rewrite of a myth. However, the point of me collecting the plot lines is not specifically to use them.

The reason why I love plot lines is because I love how you can take one plot line and have 100 stories attached to it. Every writer would write a slightly different version of a plot if it was given to them. Well known examples of this phenomenon are found in every fairy tale remake.

For me, plot lines become more than just an idea of what to write, they become a challenge of how to make my stories stand out.

How many things can you include in your remake that aren’t in other versions? What can you change without changing the plot line? Maybe you think that Snow White should have been adopted or perhaps you think that Hercules got his super human strength from steroids.

Or maybe you tweak the plot to bring it more in line with the present. Sleeping Beauty wouldn’t have pricked her finger on a spinning wheel but she could have narcolepsy or a drug problem. Maybe Red Riding Hood takes the subway to Grandma’s house.

By already knowing how the plot will progress, you can worry more about the details and less about where the story is going.

Are there any plot lines you love to use? Or do you prefer to start your stories completely from scratch?

Author:

The AP Roberts is an extremely rare creature and there is only one known AP Roberts in the world. Usually off in its own little world, the AP returns to reality when it gets lonely. This elusive creature is rather difficult to catch on film, however will pose for drawings. The AP, though wild by nature, can be tamed and makes a wonderful pet. It should also be known that while the AP gets along with most creatures it has an intense fear of insects and large canines. The AP lives on a diet of mainly vegetables and candy but is not known to refuse food that is made and offered through kindness. The drink of choice for the AP is tea though it is known to drink water and juice. There is still much to be learned of the AP however, most agree that the writings of the AP are truly something to behold. Hopefully, one day the AP will find a good Agent creature who will introduce the AP's writings to a good publisher creature and the world will be able to read the AP's works.

4 thoughts on “Plot Lines

  1. Usually I just go with whatever inspiration hits me. I love the idea of keeping a “plot book,” though!! What a valuable reference to use if you’re stuck and want to cruise for some fresh (or refurbished) ideas.

    Like

    1. I like to keep separate notebooks for my own plot lines and for what I call “classic” plot lines. Of course, I have trouble when writing solely on inspiration so I’ve always needed to have back up plot lines.

      Like

    1. And it’s so easy to make your telling unique if you break it down. It’s like going to an art class where everyone has to draw or paint the same thing. Everyone’s piece will look different because each artist has a different style and view of the world.

      Like

Review

