Posted in For the Promptless, Writing

Overwhelmed By My Obsession

This week’s Prompt for the Promptless is Logomania.

pftpep-s2ep7-logomania

Logomania:

    1. an obsessive interest in words
    2. excessive and incoherent talking
    3. the state of being A.P. Roberts

I love words. I love hearing them and reading them. I love saying them and writing them. I don’t care if everyone else hates them because I love words.

I love how words reflect the world around them. I marvel at the way words can adapt to different meanings based on tone and body language. I enjoy how words can hide our thoughts but show our souls.

Friends know how I’m feeling based on how I’m speaking. When I’m excited I talk ridiculously fast (think Six from Blossom). When I’m sad I don’t talk. But I think the most telling is when I’m ecstatic because then I have trouble finding words that will correctly convey my bliss.

I love talking not because I love the sound of my voice but because I love the way words feel on my tongue. I love the way my mouth forms around syllables. I love manipulating meanings by changing the emphasis or sentence structure.

The only problem with talking is that my brain and mouth don’t always work together. (Though my boyfriend says they never work together.) That’s why I write. I can’t revise what I’ve said out loud but I can always edit the words I’ve written. I can take the time I need to find the perfect word rather than saying the first word that pops into my mind (which is usually meow). I can change words that don’t work  and rewrite awkward sentences.

In fact, my love affair with words has gotten me in trouble with the WordPress proofreader. Every post has complex expressions that the proofreader suggests I simplify. But simplifying the words runs the risk of watering down the meaning. If I were to omit all of my complex expressions then I would feel like Alice. Instead of saying what I mean I would only mean what I say.

This obsession with words has also created a writing problem for me over the last few weeks. As I mentioned in previous posts, I am trying to post almost every day. For someone who is obsessed with editing this is a challenge. Writing posts every day is becoming very overwhelming though it was a good exercise.

While I will have to cut down on my posts I am not going back to my old “Did I post this week or last week?” method of blogging. What I am going to do is post five days a week so that I have one day for me and one day for family. I am hoping this will lessen the overwhelming while indulging the obsession.

I would love to hear about your obsessions and if you ever found yourself overwhelmed with them. How did you handle it? Did it work or are you still struggling with the balance?

hrbar

Before you go, check out the other bloggers who braved this week’s challenge:

Mama Bear Musings – Logomania

This Typing Makes Me Look Busy… Thank You Blogosphere

Journey Called Life – Music and Lyrics

AR Neal – Fußgängerzone

Serendipity – Confessions of a Logomaniac

Fish of Gold – Awesome Arcane Words

Rarasaur – Juxtapose This

Breathing Space – Logomania Hypothesized and Elucidated

Author:

The AP Roberts is an extremely rare creature and there is only one known AP Roberts in the world. Usually off in its own little world, the AP returns to reality when it gets lonely. This elusive creature is rather difficult to catch on film, however will pose for drawings. The AP, though wild by nature, can be tamed and makes a wonderful pet. It should also be known that while the AP gets along with most creatures it has an intense fear of insects and large canines. The AP lives on a diet of mainly vegetables and candy but is not known to refuse food that is made and offered through kindness. The drink of choice for the AP is tea though it is known to drink water and juice. There is still much to be learned of the AP however, most agree that the writings of the AP are truly something to behold. Hopefully, one day the AP will find a good Agent creature who will introduce the AP's writings to a good publisher creature and the world will be able to read the AP's works.

3 thoughts on “Overwhelmed By My Obsession

Review

