Posted in On Writing, Post a Day/Week

Writing on a Schedule

English: Gentaur schedule
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There are two groups of writers; those who write on a schedule and those who write when inspiration hits. While I am in the group that writes when inspiration hits, I want to be in the group that writes on a schedule.

The first reason for wanting a schedule is that I feel it would help me get into my writer mindset. A schedule would make me write rather than me saying “I can write later”. I would be able to train my brain that at a certain time I start writing and I don’t stop until the time limit is reached.

The second reason is that I want to have a divide between my writing and life. At the moment my life has no schedule because Sweety and I are both off work for health reasons. Because of this lack of schedule I’ve been attempting to write while spending time with Sweety. It has gotten to the point where I am interrupted every time I open up my computer to start writing. With a schedule I can let people know that for this time period I am writing and don’t want distractions.

My last reason for wanting a schedule is so that I can give myself deadlines. I can say that I want to write a certain number of scenes in each time period or that I want to use one of the time periods to edit a story. By setting deadlines I can measure my writing goals and try to improve my output.

Do you find yourself writing on a schedule or do you write when inspiration hits? Do you prefer one method over the other?

Author:

The AP Roberts is an extremely rare creature and there is only one known AP Roberts in the world. Usually off in its own little world, the AP returns to reality when it gets lonely. This elusive creature is rather difficult to catch on film, however will pose for drawings. The AP, though wild by nature, can be tamed and makes a wonderful pet. It should also be known that while the AP gets along with most creatures it has an intense fear of insects and large canines. The AP lives on a diet of mainly vegetables and candy but is not known to refuse food that is made and offered through kindness. The drink of choice for the AP is tea though it is known to drink water and juice. There is still much to be learned of the AP however, most agree that the writings of the AP are truly something to behold. Hopefully, one day the AP will find a good Agent creature who will introduce the AP's writings to a good publisher creature and the world will be able to read the AP's works.

15 thoughts on “Writing on a Schedule

  1. I would find a schedule that was too specific very hard to work to. I tend to write better once properly awake so I write in the afternoon (before i get sleepy again) and each day I will have a different goal in mind, but I don’t do well with a time limit as one day I might have lots of ideas and another I won’t have any inspiration :). I do still try and stick to my 250/250 words a day- 250 for blog and 250 for novel.

    Like

    1. That’s true, every day has different writing inspiration so there will be a changes in the number of ideas. Though having a minimum word count goal would definitely be a help.

      I really like your plan of 250 words for each rather than a total word count for both. I may have to poach it for my own writing. 🙂

      Like

          1. I found that i write way more in novels so i’m thinking of changing it to 250/500 or maybe 250/1000 but i can’t seem to stick to a strict goal plus i have days where i’m out nearly all day 😛

            Like

          2. That pesky life just keeps getting in the way of writing. Honestly, the writers of the world need to sit life down for a good talking to.

            Maybe you need fluctuating goals for your novel? When you know that you don’t have a lot planned outside of writing you can challenge yourself to 1000+ words and lower it to 250 for busy days.

            Like

          3. Yes i think i will try that thank you 🙂 managed to finally finish a first draft today of a short story and hope to do work on a novella so that it is a complete first draft by end of next week. so sticking to goals is very important 🙂

            Like

  2. I started writing to a schedule about three weeks ago. However, the trick is to work out the limit of words you should be writing. I started my habit with 2000 words five days a week (with Saturday allocated to blogging) but after I lifted it to 3000 words a day it did not take long until I was burnt out.

    Like

    1. That is a good point. Everyone has their own word count limit that works for them. I have a friend who can only write 500 words before she gets overwhelmed whereas I’ve been known to write upwards of 20,000 words in a single day. Of course, I will not be planning to have that as my daily goal. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

      Like

  3. I write on a schedule, but I have to change it often because of work and other real-life circumstances. Writing on a schedule has always worked better for me… it sort of “trains” you to meet deadlines and to write even when you don’t always feel like it!

    Like

    1. I hope I can train myself for deadlines. I am horrible for waiting until the very last minute or just deciding not to write. 🙂

      Of course, I completely understand the changing schedule. Life is just so inconsiderate of writing and always seems to get in the way.

      Like

Review

