Posted in Challenges, For the Promptless, Post a Day/Week, Writing

Emma’s Vision Board

I think I like Prompts for the Promptless byRarasaur. So far I’ve been completing them every week. This weeks prompt is “Total Monet” and I also took some inspiration from my previous post “Hospitals Are Not Sexy“.

“Hey mom,” Carrianne poked her head around the door of her mother’s hospital room. “Are you awake?”

“Hmm?” The brown-haired woman slowly eased herself into a seated position.

“Mom, you don’t have to sit up. It’s just me and you need your rest.”

“I’ve had enough rest. I’ve been lying down all day.” Carrianne’s mother let out a weak smile. “Sitting up will do me some good.”

“Well, I have some good news. I was talking to the doctors and they said that they have an idea of what’s going on. They’re just waiting for the tests to come back.” Carrianne set her bag on the chair by her mother’s bed.

“I know Sweety. They told me earlier.”

“Okay, then how about good news number two?” Carrianne rummaged through her bag for a moment before pulling out a sheet of paper. “Emma made you a present.”

The laugh that greeted that statement sounded weak and tired. “Is it another self-portrait?”

“No, it’s the vision board I told you she was working on the other day.” Carrianne unfolded the paper revealing a collage of bright images.

“It looks interesting.”

Carrianne walked over to the bulletin board and pinned the vision board so that it was viewable from the bed. “If you squint your eyes it looks like a flower. But I’m not sure if she did that on purpose or not.”

“It does look better over there. Reminds me of that painter. You know, the one who used the dots.” Hazel eyes began to drift shut and Carrianne’s mother let out a yawn.

“Mom, lie down. You’re falling asleep and sitting up isn’t doing you any good. You need your rest.”

“What I need is to get better so I can go to your graduation.”

“You need rest in order to get better.”

“And you need to go to school in order to graduate.”

Carrianne smiled. “I’ll make you a deal. I’ll go to my classes and you will get more rest.”

Her mother would have replied but sleep had proven to be stronger than her will to stay awake.

hrbar

Before you leave, check out the other wonderful promptless bloggers this week:

Mama Bear Musings – A Total Monet

Serendipity – Pretty Messy Life

TheMatticusKingdom – Details

One Starving Activist – Someone’s Baby Once

Repressed Expressions – Ode to the Hair on my Chinny-Chin-Chin

Goodbye Whoopie Pie – Crinkling Monets

Journey Called Life… My Myopia and a Total Monet

This Typing Makes Me Look Busy … – Ding Dong, Crazy is Gone

Memoirs of an Unremarkable Man – Don’t Look Too Close, Except You Should

The Seeker’s Dungeon – Forgive Me for Seeing Only Cowardice

Sue’s Trifles – Monet Prompt

Cognitive Reflections – A Total Monet

Breathing Space – Ready for my Close Up

Author:

The AP Roberts is an extremely rare creature and there is only one known AP Roberts in the world. Usually off in its own little world, the AP returns to reality when it gets lonely. This elusive creature is rather difficult to catch on film, however will pose for drawings. The AP, though wild by nature, can be tamed and makes a wonderful pet. It should also be known that while the AP gets along with most creatures it has an intense fear of insects and large canines. The AP lives on a diet of mainly vegetables and candy but is not known to refuse food that is made and offered through kindness. The drink of choice for the AP is tea though it is known to drink water and juice. There is still much to be learned of the AP however, most agree that the writings of the AP are truly something to behold. Hopefully, one day the AP will find a good Agent creature who will introduce the AP's writings to a good publisher creature and the world will be able to read the AP's works.

Review

